(321) 508-9018

What's Required To Make My Website ADA Compliant?

Don't be overwhelmed, we are here to help!

To have compliant content and design, here is a sampling of the most common elements that need to be fixed:


  • ALT Text: Every non-text element needs a text alternative (alt text) that provides an equivalent to the image content.
  • Clearly Structured Content: Each page of your website needs to be organized using content headings and lists. Using white space, icons, and illustrations will improve readability. In some cases, this is best accomplished with a redesign, as many websites have hundreds, or even thousands, of individual pages.
  • Color Blind-Friendly Colors: If your website’s colors include red and/or green, you’ll need to be wary of how those colors are used, as they make it difficult for color-blind individuals to read content. If your website is heavily dependent on these colors, a redesign may likely be your best option.
  • Ensure Links Make Sense out of Context: Using links like “click here” or “learn more,” are confusing for screen reading technology, as they provide no context. Ensure all links identify what content is provided when clicked.
  • Provide Video Captions and Transcripts: While this is perhaps the most cumbersome process of them all, it is essential for ADA compliant content.
  • Create Accessible Forms: Accessible forms are logical and easy-to-use, are keyword accessible, and provide labels with controls, such as “select one.”
  • Make All PDFs Accessible or Consider Removing Them: PDF tags provide a hidden structured, textual representation of the PDF content that is presented to screen readers. They exist for accessibility purposes only and have no visible effect on the PDF file. More information on this process can be found on Adobe’s website. This is a time-consuming process, and we encourage you to give us a call and discuss the best way to accomplish compliance.



Would you like to read the actual guidelines?

The currently acccepted “best practice” guidelines are created and published by the by the W3C which stands for World Wide Web Consortium.  The actual Guidelines are called the WCAG which stands for Web Content Accessibility Guidelines and the latest iteration of that is WCAG 2.1.


Confused yet?  Now, there are even levels for the WCAG 2.1 being level “A”, “AA” and “AAA” called Conformance Levels.


WCAG 2.1 Conformance Levels

WCAG 2.1 guidelines are categorized into three levels of conformance in order to meet the needs of different groups and different situations: A (lowest), AA (mid range), and AAA (highest). Conformance at higher levels indicates conformance at lower levels. For example, by conforming to AA, a Web page meets both the A and AA conformance levels. Level A sets a minimum level of accessibility and does not achieve broad accessibility for many situations. For this reason, WCAG recommends AA conformance for all Web-based information when possible.

The WCAG document does not recommend that Level AAA conformance be required as a general policy for entire sites because it is not possible to satisfy all Level AAA success criteria 

To see the WCAG 2.1 Guidelines for yourself, you can find them here.

As you can see, there is a lot to learn to do this in-house.  We suggest the better choice is to use the Adaptivity Solution.  Learn how the Adaptivity Solution can take this off your plate and let you do what your business was designed to do.